Testimonials

Did you visit Ilias with Berber Nomad Trekking? Please leave a testimonial of your visit with this page's comment form.

I hope you enjoyed your being here as much as I enjoy being with my quests.

Page top image by © Website Nomad / Harriet Eriksson. All rights reserved. Do not copy or save any images or content of this site.

17 Comments

  1. Julius on 14.11.2016 at 22:00

    My girlfriend and I stayed with Ilias for 2 nights and we had an amazing time. Ilias knows a lot about his area and is a very nice guy. The place to stay at his family house is big and comfortable. The food is very delicious as well. We also enjoyed the hiking. First it also included a little bit of climbing which was sometimes a little bit of challenging but it was a lot of fun. Staying in the caves with a nomad family was amazing as well. I totally recommend Ilias as a guide and as someone to hang out! You will enjoy your time! Thanks Ilias for everything!

  2. Steph on 15.11.2016 at 04:30

    I had a great time with Ilias and his beautiful family in the amazing scenery of Dades valley. I enjoyed the hike through the valley and gardens of the village, its very peaceful there. Thank you for the nice experience spending time with you and your family!!

  3. Derek Halsey on 15.11.2016 at 18:03

    Recently made my first trip to Africa / Morocco with my friend from France. We had no idea what to expect and ended up reaching Ilias in Dades Valley by luck. And what luck it was! Ilias took us into his home, sharing meals with his family and going on amazing treks through the surrounding canyons and mountains. The only down-side to this whole experience was that we only had one week and not more.

    The nature is absolutely beautiful, the people warm and Ilias brings together the very best of Morocco for you.

    A lot of the pictures on this website are from our trip – what an experience – can’t wait to see Ilias again – thank you!

  4. Federico on 17.11.2016 at 07:58

    Great guy! We went trekking together in Atlas mountains and slept one night in nomads’ caves. He’s very expert guide and his couscouscous cooked on a fire is really yummy! Next time we’ll go trekking in desert Ilias ok?..;) Best regards to your family and friends!..:)

  5. Monica on 17.11.2016 at 16:28

    We stayed with Ilias a couple of days and trekked with him in the mountains. The places he showed us are really incredible! The colours of the lanscape are the same he has on his jacket and my favourites..;)
    Next time I will ask where i can buy one, ok Ilias?
    He’s very professional and patient as guide but, at the same time, he’s very funny and you never get bored with him. He speaks English and French so very easy to get good informations about amazigh culture and trips in Morocco.
    Tanks for all Ilias and regards to your family..:)

  6. Nina D on 21.11.2016 at 21:50

    I like to explore by myself and I am good to find my way. Usually I hate organized touristic tours. I must say, without Ilias as a guide and his welcoming family, I will probably miss the essence of Dades Valley: washing my laundry with the women of the village, sharing tea and listening songs with nomadic sheperds, learning to cook a berber omelette in tajine, eating daily fresh bread baked in a wooden mudd oven, having home made hammam in the yard, witnessing a berber wedding, touching the snow after 6h trekk in the canyon, snaking through narrow gorges, watching the stars from my cave at night… No guidebook can provide you the authenticity.

  7. Magda&Dirk on 30.11.2016 at 18:38

    If you don’t like corporate tourism, but you like having an authentic experience, Ilias is your guy. He will listen to your needs and provide a perfect opportunity for a fantastic adventure. We stayed in his hospitable home with his lovely family, we let him guide us through the beauties of Dades Valley, we ate delicious food he made and had interesting conversations. Ilias is a laid-back, super patient, caring and intelligent guide with lots of knowledge to share. In an unpretentious way he will lead you through a cultural and historical nuances of his country as well as through awesome landscapes. He supports local community. If we ever go back to Morocco (inshallah!), we will ask Ilias to be our guide again.
    Magda and Dirk (Gent, Belgium)

  8. Gianni on 22.01.2017 at 01:10

    Sure one of the best experience in my life. Ilias will make you discover the food and culture of Berber people. Moreover, you will have the chance to visit places of breath-taking beauty, like the Monkey Fingers Mountain and the Atlas Canyon. He will bring you to sleep in the desert and see how beautiful are the stars during the night in the Sahara. It is a unique experience in life.

  9. Charity on 08.02.2017 at 20:20

    I don’t usually recommend places to go to other travelers (or write references) because I believe that following your intuition and not having a fixed plan is an important part of the adventure. But I really had the BEST TIME EVER with Ilias and if you’re going to stay with him adventures are guaranteed anyway.
    So I stayed with Ilias for 6 days and he showed me his traditional Berber culture. If you want a REAL authentic experience (not touristy) and if you like adventures (living the real life not luxury resort stuff) then Ilias is your guy. He took me trekking into the mountains, which were basically his backyard, took me to visit a nomad family who lived in a cave, took me to the dessert riding a camel and taught me how to make traditional Moroccan food. He really adapted the plan to my preferences and was super kind and thoughtful.

  10. Bruna Quadros on 11.02.2017 at 13:06

    Ilias is a very nice person and a skilled guide.
    He took us to a cave in the Atlas Mountain. We did some trekking and climbing to get there. It was an amazing adventure!!! I just loved how we did yoga under the stars! I will never forget that particular cold and beautiful night<3

    We spent a night at his place, where we learnt a lot about moroccan culture. There, we shared a meal (his mom bakes a delicious bread and couscous) and watch soap operas with his parents.

    With him, we went also to Todhra and Gorges Valley. Beautiful landscape/ view!!

    Later on, we went to Merzouga desert. Where we had some berber music and great photos.

    Call him and have a 100% guaranted Berber Nomad Trekking experience!

  11. Lena on 09.04.2017 at 22:57

    When you are searching for a beautiful tour through Moroccos’ nature, when you want to learn something about the Berber tradition and culture and are curious to see the real Morocco -not only the touristic parts-, then Ilias is the perfect guide for you!

    We started our tour in the scenic village of Ilias family in Dades valley, hiked trough the amazing landscapes of Atlas Mountains to stay in the caves of a real Nomad family, did yoga in the evening, learnd how to cook delicious moroccean food, met many friendly and welcoming people, enjoyed stories about history, widened our knowledge about plants, the Berber language and the basic and pure life within nature. We hiked back another trail with paradise-like gardens, started a little climbing-experience, played drums and sang together, relaxed on the rooftop of his parents’ house and enjoyed fresh tea and self-made food all the time.
    Ilias not only showed us his beloved mountains, but also the Sahara desert, where we rode camels, enjoyed the view in the clear night sky to search for Orion and Jupiter and had a fun time doing sand boarding 😉
    Whatever you are looking for or are interested in, Ilias will make it possible for you and will find a way to make your holidays one of the best experiences of your life.

    We not only found a reliable and passionate guide but also a good friend in Ilias.
    Thank you so much for everything!
    We hope to see you again soon.

  12. Pia on 13.04.2017 at 13:19

    Me and my boyfriend had 4 wonderful days with Elias. We arrived in the evening on the first night and stayed in his family home. The second day we walked to the caves in the mountains, it was great to see the local people, Elisas told us about Berber customs and traditions. The terrain was beautiful and great for trekking. The third day we spent the day walking back to Elias place, the fourth we stayed overnight in the desert with an organized camel trekking tour. All along we were provided excellent food, the best we had in Marocco, especially the food at his family home. We really enjoyed the experience, Elias made everything flow smoothly with no hassle or stress. Thank you for the tour Elias!

  13. Elisa on 10.05.2017 at 19:57

    I almost never write reviews but felt I ought to because the experience with Ilias was something special. If you want to get a bit (or entirely) off the beaten path, then Berber Nomad Trekking is a great choice. Ilias organized a 6 day trip for us, tailoring it to where we wanted to go and how many days we had available. He managed all the details start to finish, allowing us to just relax and enjoy our experience. I generally don’t like going with tour companies or guides but I took a chance with him and was very happy. In fact we have already planned a return trip to Morocco so we can go trekking again with Ilias.

  14. Monika on 13.06.2017 at 18:31

    Initially planning to stay only a few days with Ilias and do the mountain trip I ended up extending my stay to 5 days and doing the desert trip as well.

    Over all it has been a really special experience. Scenery is absolutely beautiful over there and Ilias and his family’s hospitality was heartwarming.
    We did an overnight trip to the mountains where we slept in the caves, wandered around the gardens and beautiful surroundings of his home. At the end of the my stay we got to Merzouga to do the desert trip.

    Ilias is a great guide as he knows every corner, plant & herb of the area. Furthermore, he’s an easy going, flexible and caring guy who will make sure you have an unforgettable Moroccan experience.

  15. Cécile on 12.08.2017 at 17:44

    Loïc et moi avons passé deux jours chez Ilyas en mai dernier. Il nous a reçu très chaleureusement chez lui (chambre simple mais grande et très propre) et nous a cuisiné de savoureux repas. Notre journée de balade dans la vallée de Boumalne Dadés était magique (un des meilleurs moments de nos vacances au Maroc !). Mon seul regret est de n’être pas resté plus longtemps pour pouvoir faire une randonnée de plusieurs jours. N’hésitez pas à à lui écrire pour discuter directement de vos envies de randonnées !

  16. Ann-Sophie on 25.08.2017 at 12:41

    The trekking and desert tour with Ilias was definitely the highlight of our Morocco trip! We had 4 amazing days including hiking through the gorge, swimming in the valley, camping in a cave, cooking traditional food, and riding camels in the desert. It was a lot of fun and we were able to get a great insight into Berber culture and see another side of Morocco far from anything commercial.

    Ilias is a great guide who showed us great places and told us a lot about the country and the region he lives in. He made the tour very individual, it felt like visiting a friend the whole time. And his guest house is amazing!

    The tour was a unique and unforgettable experience, it was really authentic and original and we couldn’t have asked for more. Thank you Ilias, for all the impressions and experiences, for spending time with us and also for all the great pictures you took!

  17. Casimiro on 04.11.2017 at 10:55

    With only a day to spend in the Dadès, I decided I needed a guide in order to make the most of it. Ilias proved to be the perfect choice – not only was he friendly and knowledgeable, he was also very flexible in accommodating my requests for such a limited time and even last minute changes.
    I was hospitably welcomed to his guesthouse (I did not stay overnight, but I it seemed very cozy and clean), and, from there, we headed straight to the Monkey’s Fingers rock formation just across the valley. We crossed the labyrinth fm the fruit and vegetable gardens in the valley, crossed the Dadès and spent a few hours hiking round this spectacular rock formations. In the process, we also explored a bit of the narrow canyon of one of the tributaries do the Dadès and also passed a couple of hamlets and some interesting kasha in ruins.
    Although not the most spectacular hike ever (it was what I could manage I the short time I had), it was still quite scenic and a great relaxed break from the hectic pace of traveling. We ended again at his guesthouse for some tea.
    Ilias also struck me as a cultivated person – we even had interesting discussions on philosophy..

Leave a Comment